Love

“Will you please stop slamming the bloody door? One day it’s gonna crack or break or something and then I’ll get the blame for it, since you’re not supposed to even be here.” She was sprawled on her bed, glaring at me.

I opened the door again, and then closed it slowly and carefully, exaggerating my movements. She threw a pillow at me, and I laughed, dropping my bag to the floor and stooping to pick up the pillow and fling it back at her. She batted it away easily, but her glare had dropped from her face, and she smiled at me.

I grinned back, just standing there, taking it in. This was the only place I felt at home. It smelled of sweet candles and bath bombs and chocolate, and I could hear the sea just outside the window, and feel the cool breeze on my skin. I felt more at home here than I did at my own home, here with the girl that I loved. And speaking of…

I collapsed on the bed next to her, and she wrapped her arms around me without speaking, just holding me as I relaxed, tension melting away. I buried my face in her neck, inhaling her scent, feeling her soft skin against mine. “I love you,” I whispered, my words almost lost, but her grip tightened around me. She always heard.

“I love you too,” she murmured, and I closed my eyes and smiled.

-Maura Kenny

[23/02/17: Door]

drop some thoughts

